Butterscotch pecan baked cheesecake

I have very fond memories of the butter pecan icecream flavor from Royal Copenhagen Danish Icecream shops. I remember first eating it when I was on holidays in Manly, on the Northern beaches in Sydney, when I was still in primary school. Some years later, hmmm let’s say about 25, I still seek it out when I see a Royal Copenhagen and i’m thrilled that often it is still there with all its cold creamy, crunchy sweetness, with literally a pecan and a couple of pumps of the caramel fudge on top, wow wee childhood again. The point of this story is that when I came across this cheesecake recipe, I was instantly transported to that childhood memory. Surely, butterscotch pecan was going to be winning combination in a cheesecake. I love that food can take me places!

Butterscotch topping

Butterscotch topping

Ingredients

Base

  • 150g chocolate biscuits
  • 50g melted butter

Filling

  • 500g cream cheese
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup or 165g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp plain flour
  • 60g roasted pecans, chopped

Butterscotch topping

  • 1/3 cup or 75g firmly packed brown sugar
  • 40g butter
  • 1 tbsp cream

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 160c/ 140c fan forced (roast pecans, chop and set aside)
  2. Process biscuits until fine (I used my thermomix, couple of seconds on 7), add melted butter and process until combined.
  3. Press into base of springform pan and refrigerate for 1/2 hour
  4. Combine cheese, sugar, vanilla, until smooth and add eggs.
  5. Stir in flour and nuts
  6. Pour into pan and bake for 45mins, cool cheesecake in oven with door ajar, stops it from cracking
  7. Heat all topping ingredients until smooth
  8. Spread over the cheesecake and cool for 3 hours in fridge.
Sneaky taste, butterscotch pecan cheesecake

Sneaky taste, butterscotch pecan cheesecake

The verdict

We had some friends over for dinner and I just couldn’t wait to try it. I stuck into the fridge to check on the progress of cooling a couple of times. I got it out of the fridge just before serving dinner as I thought it would have better flavor if cool not cold and yes, I have no self control as you can see from the picture, I had to check that it was okay to serve, just in case it had gone off! ha. A little slither of heaven it was indeed, chocolately biccy base, creamy buttery toasted pecans with the richness of butterscotch. The butterscotch sauce is the perfect compliment to the toasted nuts. Boy, I was looking forward to dessert, the little sneak taste was such a tease. I served everyone a huge slice with a big scoop of vanilla ice-cream. It received very good feedback from friends, a request for the recipe is always a good sign. Yes, I knew it would be a winner, after all some flavors stand the test of time even as my palate has developed. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

