Whole blood orange cake, no boiling neccessary

When I had my cafe, I was lucky enough to have quite a few recipes passed onto me by people in the Bourke community. One of the real gems was for a whole orange cake, given to me by Ann Holst.

This cake is so simple to make, works ever time and has a really lovely fruity flavor and moist texture. The best thing is you don’t have to boil the oranges for hours.

In my last post, I had found some blood oranges in our local fruit shop and I was pondering what to do with them. Thank you to my friends for the ideas, which I also plan on trying. This cake is what I ended up making with the blood oranges, by the time I had researched ideas all afternoon, I got impatient and cooked Ann’s lovely cake recipe.

Anne's Orange Cake recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 orange – i used 2 blood oranges
  • 1 cup of raisins – i used dates as i didn’t have any raisins
  • 1/2 cup of butter
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 cup warm water
  • 2 cups plain flour

Method

  1.  In thermomix or food processor blend oranges chop but with skin on, with the raisins and walnuts, set aside.
  2. Cream butter and sugar
  3.  Add eggs, vanilla and soda dissolved in water
  4.  Stir in sifted flour and then orange mixture
  5. Turn into cake tin and bake for about an hour, my oven is fast it was done in 45mins.

I think it would also be lovely with cream cheese icing with a couple of walnuts on top for decoration.

The end result, whole orange cake

The end result, whole orange cake

One thought on “Whole blood orange cake, no boiling neccessary

Leave a Reply

