Lemon Delicious is delicious: My Mum’s recipe

I just love this recipe, a light delicate sponge on top of a lovely lemon sauce, perfect decadence. This is a good recipe version; it always works and has coconut in it which isn’t in other versions I’ve made. Coconut lifts it a little and gives some texture. I’m out at Bourke at the family sheep station and I couldn’t resist but share a photo of the well loved page out of my Mum’s recipe book (see below). This is a real classic in my opinion.

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tbsp SR flour
  • 1 tbsp grated lemon rind
  • 1/2 cup coconut
  • 1/4 cup sugar, extra

Method

  1. Beat egg yolks with 3/4 cup sugar until light and creamy. Beat in milk, sift flour, lemon rind and juice, and salt. Stir in coconut.
  2. Beat egg whites, add extra sugar gradually, Continue until stiff but not dry.
  3. Fold in lemon coconut mixture.
  4. Pour into deep greased 20com oven proof dish.
  5. Stand in a shallow pan of hot water. Bake in moderate oven for 1 hour.

I hope you’ll love this as much as we do. It is such a treat with warm homemade custard, a perfect comfort food for a cold winter’s night.

If you make it let me know what you think.

Lemon Delicious

Lemon Delicious

Leave a Reply

