SBS Spice Trip, My Inspiration for this Curry featuring Nutmeg

I really enjoy my foodie night on SBS, on Thursday evenings, I snuggle on the lounge for an hour and a half of foodie inspiration. Wishing for smellivision, last Thursday night as Spice Trip featured nutmeg. Oh is there anything that smells as home cooked and comforting as fresh ground nutmeg?! Coupled with cinnamon you have heaven and not just in sweet dishes, as I discovered cooking this Afghani Lamb and Spinach Curry.

Yes, I used lamb shoulder, it is the sweetest and tastiest cut of lamb and definitely my favourite for slow cooking.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 tbsp oil
  • 1kg lamb cubes
  • 1 large onion, chopped finely
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 2 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 400g tin toms
  • 2 cups beef stock
  • 150g baby spinach
  • 1 tbsp lemon rind
  • 1/3 cup tasted slivered almonds

Method:

  1. Heat half oil in large saucepan, cook lamb in two batches until brown and caramelised, remove from pan
  2. Add other half of the oil, add onion and spices and cook until onion is soft (turn down heat as you want to toast spices and soften the onion not burn them).
  3. Return the lamb add stock and tomatoes, simmer covered for 1 hr 45 mins, uncover and simmer for 15 mins or so more until thick and lamb is tender. Add spinach and heat until wilts.
  4. Sprinkle with toasted almonds, I served with rice.

(Borrowed from Women’s Weekly)

Image

The Verdict:

It is amazing, a fragrant, almost sweet curry. The meat is ‘melt in your mouth’ tender. The freshness of the baby spinach and lemon rind gives it a real kick, along with the toasty nutty crunch from the almonds. I controlled myself to one bowl, Damo had two bowls. I fear a fight over the leftovers as I imagine it will be even better tomorrow.

Thank you Spice Trip for the inspiration as we thoroughly enjoyed using this very special and fragrant spice in a meat dish, certainly not just for baking sweets.

One thought on “SBS Spice Trip, My Inspiration for this Curry featuring Nutmeg

Leave a Reply

